BEST LAPTOPS FOR GAMES

Top 100 Best Laptops for Apex Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for GTA V Top 100 Best Laptops for Red Dead Redemption 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for ARK: Survival Evolved Top 100 Best Laptops for AC: Odyssey Top 100 Best Laptops for AC Valhalla [AnvilNext 2.0] Top 100 Best Laptops for Battlefield 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Borderlands 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Top 100 Best Laptops for CS:GO Top 100 Best Laptops for Cyberpunk 2077 Top 100 Best Laptops for Darksiders Genesis Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Eternal Top 100 Best Laptops for DOTA 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2021 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry New Dawn Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 19 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 20 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 21 Top 100 Best Laptops for For Honor Top 100 Best Laptops for Fortnite Top 100 Best Laptops for Gears 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Halo: Reach Top 100 Best Laptops for Hearthstone Top 100 Best Laptops for League of Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for Metro Exodus Top 100 Best Laptops for Minecraft Top 100 Best Laptops for Need For Speed Heat Top 100 Best Laptops for Overwatch Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2020 Top 100 Best Laptops for PUBG Top 100 Best Laptops for Resident Evil 2 [RE Engine] Top 100 Best Laptops for Rise of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Rocket League Top 100 Best Laptops for Shadow of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Team Fortress 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for The Witcher 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Wildlands Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Six Siege Top 100 Best Laptops for Total War: THREE KINGDOMS Top 100 Best Laptops for Warframe Top 100 Best Laptops for World of Tanks

Test de Dell S2721QS

Nous sommes en 2022, et les moniteurs UHD sont plus accessibles que jamais. Nous nous souvenons encore de l’époque où le 1080p est entré dans les griffes du marché informatique, et nous avons tous considéré qu’il s’agissait d’une solution super nette, même à grande échelle. Cependant, on a l’impression qu’il a toujours été la norme d’or de nos jours, et nous arrivons enfin à un tournant où les ordinateurs portables et les moniteurs sont proposés avec des panneaux 1440p et 4K en standard.

Aujourd’hui, nous allons vous montrer ce à quoi vous pouvez vous attendre lorsque vous achetez le Dell S2721QS, et si l’achat de cet appareil en vaut vraiment la peine. Bien sûr, tous les moniteurs 4K ne sont pas fabriqués de la même manière, mais ce qui distingue les appareils Dell, c’est la polyvalence et la haute qualité de leur support.

En ce qui concerne la qualité d’image de cet appareil particulier, Dell affirme qu’il couvre 99 % de la gamme de couleurs sRGB. De plus, il est livré avec FreeSync, ainsi qu’avec deux haut-parleurs stéréo de 3W.

Vous pouvez consulter le prix actuel du Dell S2721QS ici : Acheter sur Amazon.fr (#CommissionsEarned)

Contents

Déballage et installation

Comme d’habitude, l’emballage comprend le support démonté, un cordon d’alimentation, un connecteur HDMI, quelques documents réglementaires, ainsi qu’un guide d’installation rapide. Il est assez facile d’assembler l’appareil – il suffit de suivre les instructions en trois étapes, et de faire attention à ne pas endommager votre nouveau moniteur.

Conception et construction

Si nous devons placer un avis purement subjectif ici, nous aimons vraiment le design bicolore de ce moniteur. Il permet à l’appareil de se démarquer tout en conservant un aspect classique. Nous apprécions également le motif intéressant au dos de l’appareil.

C’est en regardant l’avant de l’appareil que nous pouvons constater que Dell a réussi à réduire l’espace autour de l’écran. Les bords supérieurs et latéraux sont presque inexistants, tandis que le bord inférieur est nettement plus grand. Dans le coin inférieur droit, sous la lunette, vous trouverez les commandes du menu OSD.

Et que serait une revue de l’écran Dell si nous ne parlions pas un instant de son support ? Il offre tous les mouvements possibles et imaginables, ce qui en fait un accessoire idéal pour tout bureau. Le montage mural est également possible, mais vous devrez trouver votre propre matériel de montage.

Ports

Tous les ports sont situés à l’arrière. Vous y trouverez la fiche du cordon d’alimentation, deux connecteurs HDMI 2.0, un DisplayPort 1.2 et une prise audio.

Menu OSD

Une fois dans le menu OSD, vous verrez 8 subdivisions, ainsi que le nom et le modèle du moniteur dans le coin supérieur gauche (du menu), et le port d’entrée et la résolution actuels dans le coin inférieur gauche.

À l’intérieur des options, vous pouvez trouver le réglage de la luminosité, le réglage des couleurs prédéfinies, la netteté et le temps de réponse, et plus encore. À propos, l’option de temps de réponse fait référence à l’Overdrive – nous y reviendrons plus tard.


Qualité d’affichage

Le Dell S2721QS est équipé d’une dalle de type IPS. Sa diagonale est de 27 pouces (69 cm), sa résolution de 3840 x 2160 pixels et sa fréquence de rafraîchissement maximale de 60 Hz. Le rapport d’écran est de 16:9, et nous sommes face à une densité de pixels de – 163 ppi, et un pas de 0,16 х 0,16 mm. L’écran se transforme en Retina lorsqu’il est regardé à une distance égale ou supérieure à 53cm (31,5″) (à partir de cette distance, l’œil ne différencie plus les pixels séparés).

Il présente des angles de vision confortables. Nous proposons des images à 45° pour évaluer la qualité de l’image.

Egalement, une vidéo avec mise au point et exposition verrouillées.

Nous avons mesuré une luminosité maximale de 397 nits au milieu de l’écran (“Custom color” – RGB R100, G100, B100 after Reset). La température de couleur corrélée sur un écran blanc et une luminosité maximale est de 6570K, ce qui correspond presque à la norme sRGB de 6500K.
Dans l’illustration ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir comment l’écran se comporte du point de vue de l’uniformité. Il en va ainsi pour les niveaux de luminosité opérationnels (environ 140 nits) – dans ce cas particulier, à une luminosité de 25 % (niveau de blanc = 143 cd/m2, niveau de noir = 0,13 cd/m2).

Les valeurs de dE2000 supérieures à 4,0 ne devraient pas se produire, et ce paramètre est l’un des premiers que vous devriez vérifier si vous avez l’intention d’utiliser le moniteur pour des travaux sensibles aux couleurs. Le rapport de contraste est bon – 1060:1.
Tous les tests ont été effectués avec le moniteur connecté à une NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060.


Pour être sûrs que nous sommes sur la même longueur d’onde, nous aimerions vous donner une petite introduction à la gamme de couleurs sRGB et à l’Adobe RGB. Pour commencer, il y a le diagramme de chromaticité uniforme CIE 1976 qui représente le spectre visible des couleurs par l’œil humain, vous donnant une meilleure perception de la couverture de la gamme de couleurs et de la précision des couleurs.

À l’intérieur du triangle noir, vous verrez la gamme de couleurs standard (sRGB) qui est utilisée par des millions de personnes sur la TVHD et sur le Web. Quant à la gamme Adobe RGB, elle est utilisée dans les caméras professionnelles, les moniteurs, etc. pour l’impression. En gros, les couleurs situées à l’intérieur du triangle noir sont utilisées par tout le monde et c’est la partie essentielle de la qualité et de la précision des couleurs d’un écran grand public.

Nous avons tout de même inclus d’autres espaces colorimétriques comme la célèbre norme DCI-P3 utilisée par les studios de cinéma, ainsi que la norme numérique UHD Rec.2020. La norme Rec.2020, cependant, est encore une chose du futur et il est difficile pour les écrans actuels de la couvrir correctement. Nous avons également inclus la gamme dite de Michael Pointer, ou gamme de Pointer, qui représente les couleurs que l’on retrouve naturellement autour de nous tous les jours.

La ligne pointillée jaune indique la couverture de la gamme de couleurs du Dell S2721QS en mode “sRGB” dans le premier graphique et en mode “Standard” dans le second.

Cet écran couvre 98 % de la gamme sRGB/ITU-R BT.709 (norme Web/HDTV) de la CIE1976.

Notre profil “Design and Gaming” offre une température de couleur optimale (6500K) pour une luminance de 140 cd/m2 et une courbe d’encodage sRGB. Nous avons utilisé le préréglage “Température de couleur Mode utilisateur – RGB R100, G94, B100” et l’avons comparé au préréglage “Mode sRGB”.

Nous avons testé la précision de l’affichage avec 24 couleurs couramment utilisées comme la peau humaine claire et foncée, le ciel bleu, l’herbe verte, l’orange, etc. Vous pouvez vérifier les résultats à l’état d’usine et aussi, avec le profil “Design and Gaming”.

Ci-dessous, vous pouvez comparer les résultats de l’ordinateur Dell S2721QS avec les paramètres par défaut (à gauche) et avec le profil ” Jeux et conception Web ” (à droite). La comparaison est effectuée avec le préréglage “Standard”.



La figure suivante montre à quel point l’écran est capable de reproduire les parties vraiment sombres d’une image, ce qui est essentiel lorsque vous regardez des films ou jouez à des jeux dans une lumière ambiante faible.

Le côté gauche de l’image représente l’écran avec les paramètres de base, tandis que le côté droit est celui où le profil “Gaming and Web Design” est activé. Sur l’axe horizontal, vous trouverez l’échelle de gris, et sur l’axe vertical – la luminance de l’écran. Sur les deux graphiques ci-dessous, vous pouvez facilement vérifier par vous-même comment votre écran gère les nuances les plus sombres, mais n’oubliez pas que cela dépend également des paramètres de votre écran actuel, de la calibration, de l’angle de vue et des conditions de luminosité environnantes.

Temps de réponse (capacités de jeu)

Le temps de réponse des pixels ne doit pas être plus lent que le cycle de rafraîchissement de l’écran (16,67 ms pour 60 Hz, 6,94 ms pour 144 Hz, et ainsi de suite). En fin de compte, cela donne lieu à des images fantômes, causées par l’incapacité du pixel à changer dans ce laps de temps, et donc à continuer dans l’image suivante. Afin de lutter contre ce problème, les fabricants utilisent l’Overdrive. Il s’agit essentiellement d’une technique de compensation du temps de réponse (RTC). Que fait-elle ? Eh bien, elle fournit une tension plus élevée aux cristaux (dans les écrans LCD), ce qui leur permet de changer de position plus rapidement. Cependant, des niveaux excessifs d’Overdrive peuvent entraîner un Overshooting, qui se transforme en ghosting inverse, coronas et artefacts, affectant évidemment la qualité de l’image de manière négative. C’est pourquoi de nombreux fabricants proposent plusieurs niveaux d’Overdrive, afin que vous puissiez choisir celui qui vous convient le mieux.

Nous testons le temps de réaction des pixels avec la méthode habituelle “noir à blanc” et “blanc à noir” de 10% à 90% et vice versa et la luminosité maximale.



Nous testons le temps de réaction des pixels avec la méthode habituelle “Gray-to-Gray” de 50% de blanc à 80% de blanc et vice versa entre 10% et 90% de l’amplitude et de la luminosité maximale.



PWM (scintillement de l’écran)

La modulation de largeur d’impulsion (PWM) est un moyen simple de contrôler la luminosité d’un écran. Lorsque vous réduisez la luminosité, l’intensité lumineuse du rétroéclairage n’est pas diminuée, mais elle est éteinte et allumée par l’électronique à une fréquence indiscernable par l’œil humain. Dans ces impulsions lumineuses, le rapport de temps lumière/absence de lumière varie, tandis que la luminosité reste inchangée, ce qui est nocif pour vos yeux. Vous pouvez en savoir plus à ce sujet dans notre article consacré au PWM.

Le rétroéclairage de l’écran Dell S2721QS ne subit aucune modulation PWM, quel que soit le niveau de luminosité. Il est donc confortable pour vos yeux sous cet aspect, même pendant de longues périodes de travail. (les résultats sont obtenus avec l’option “OverClocking” activée).

Émissions de lumière bleue

L’installation de notre profil Health-Guard élimine non seulement le PWM mais réduit également les émissions nocives de lumière bleue tout en conservant les couleurs de l’écran. Si vous n’êtes pas familier avec la lumière bleue, la version TL;DR est – des émissions qui affectent négativement vos yeux, votre peau, et votre corps entier. Vous pouvez trouver plus d’informations à ce sujet dans notre article consacré à la lumière bleue.

Mesure du niveau de brillance

Les écrans à revêtement brillant sont parfois gênants dans des conditions de lumière ambiante élevée. Nous montrons le niveau de réflexion sur l’écran de l’ordinateur portable concerné lorsque l’écran est éteint et que l’angle de mesure est de 60° (dans ce cas, les mesures indiquent une valeur de 53,4 GU, ce qui est correct).

Achetez nos profils

Étant donné que nos profils sont adaptés à chaque modèle d’écran, cet article et son ensemble de profils respectifs sont destinés au Dell S2721QS.

Dans ce cas, les profils sont prêts à fonctionner après une réinitialisation d’usine, à l’exception du profil Gaming and Web design, pour lequel vous devez régler l’écran en “mode sRGB”. Il est intéressant de noter qu’en fonction de la lumière ambiante et du jeu auquel vous jouez, il est fort possible que le profil Office Work soit plus attrayant que le profil Gaming and Web design.

*Si vous avez des problèmes pour télécharger le fichier acheté, essayez d’utiliser un autre navigateur pour ouvrir le lien que vous recevrez par e-mail. Si la cible du téléchargement est un fichier .php au lieu d’une archive, changez l’extension du fichier en .zip ou contactez-nous à bg.laptopmedia@gmail.com.

Pour en savoir plus sur les profils, cliquez ICI.

En plus de recevoir des profils efficaces et favorables à la santé, en achetant les produits de LaptopMedia, vous soutenez également le développement de nos laboratoires, où nous testons les appareils afin de produire les examens les plus objectifs possibles.

Travail de bureau

Le travail de bureau devrait être utilisé principalement par les utilisateurs qui passent le plus de temps à regarder des morceaux de texte, des tableaux ou simplement à surfer. Ce profil vise à offrir une meilleure distinction et une meilleure clarté en conservant une courbe gamma plate (2,20), une température de couleur native et des couleurs perceptuellement précises.

Conception et jeux

Ce profil est destiné aux designers qui travaillent avec les couleurs de manière professionnelle, et pour les jeux et les films également. Design and Gaming pousse les panneaux d'affichage à leurs limites, les rendant aussi précis que possible dans la norme sRGB IEC61966-2-1 pour le Web et la TVHD, au point blanc D65.

Santé-Guard

Santé-Guard élimine le modulation de largeur d'impulsion nocive (PWM) et réduit le lumière bleue négative qui affecte nos yeux et notre corps. Comme il est adapté à chaque panneau, il parvient à maintenir la précision perceptive des couleurs. Santé-Guard simule le papier, ce qui réduit considérablement la pression sur les yeux.

Get all 3 profiles with 33% discount

Verdict

Le Dell S2721QS offre une image vraiment détaillée, grâce à sa résolution 4K. De plus, il a un temps de réponse des pixels relativement rapide, un bon taux de contraste, des angles de vision confortables et une luminosité maximale assez élevée. De plus, son rétroéclairage n’utilise pas de PWM pour le réglage de la luminosité, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez l’utiliser en toute sécurité aussi longtemps que nécessaire, sans subir les effets négatifs du scintillement.

Comme promis, il couvre presque entièrement la gamme de couleurs sRGB. Par défaut, la précision des couleurs aurait pu être meilleure. Toutefois, en consacrant beaucoup de temps à l’étalonnage et au profilage du panneau, nous sommes parvenus à ramener sa moyenne dE à une valeur inférieure à 2,0. Cela le rend approprié pour une utilisation professionnelle.

Les architectes et les ingénieurs civils, par exemple, seraient très heureux de travailler avec lui. Un cas d’utilisation encore meilleur serait de se procurer deux de ces panneaux et de les jumeler. Les bords fins permettront une expérience assez immersive, tandis que le support evergreen peut vous aider à tourner le moniteur à 90°.

Certes, il ne s’agit pas d’une dalle de jeu, mais vous pouvez tout à fait y jouer, grâce au temps de réponse rapide des pixels et à la prise en charge de FreeSync. Et si vous voulez quelque chose de plus dédié au jeu, vous pouvez consulter notre test de l’Alienware AW2521H – il a un taux de rafraîchissement de 360 Hz, ce qui est incroyable !

Vous pouvez consulter le prix actuel du Dell S2721QS ici : Acheter sur Amazon.fr (#CommissionsEarned)

Pros

  • La taille optimale pour l’informatique de bureau
  • Résolution 4K, d’où une image très nette
  • Menu OSD bien rempli
  • Réglage de la hauteur, de l’inclinaison, du pivotement et de la rotation.
  • Couverture complète de la gamme de couleurs sRGB et valeurs dE conformes aux normes (grâce à nos profils).
  • Prix raisonnable


Cons

  • E/S limitées

BEST LAPTOPS FOR GAMES

Top 100 Best Laptops for Apex Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for GTA V Top 100 Best Laptops for Red Dead Redemption 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for ARK: Survival Evolved Top 100 Best Laptops for AC: Odyssey Top 100 Best Laptops for AC Valhalla [AnvilNext 2.0] Top 100 Best Laptops for Battlefield 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Borderlands 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Top 100 Best Laptops for CS:GO Top 100 Best Laptops for Cyberpunk 2077 Top 100 Best Laptops for Darksiders Genesis Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Eternal Top 100 Best Laptops for DOTA 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2021 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry New Dawn Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 19 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 20 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 21 Top 100 Best Laptops for For Honor Top 100 Best Laptops for Fortnite Top 100 Best Laptops for Gears 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Halo: Reach Top 100 Best Laptops for Hearthstone Top 100 Best Laptops for League of Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for Metro Exodus Top 100 Best Laptops for Minecraft Top 100 Best Laptops for Need For Speed Heat Top 100 Best Laptops for Overwatch Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2020 Top 100 Best Laptops for PUBG Top 100 Best Laptops for Resident Evil 2 [RE Engine] Top 100 Best Laptops for Rise of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Rocket League Top 100 Best Laptops for Shadow of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Team Fortress 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for The Witcher 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Wildlands Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Six Siege Top 100 Best Laptops for Total War: THREE KINGDOMS Top 100 Best Laptops for Warframe Top 100 Best Laptops for World of Tanks

Dell S2721QS review

It is 2022, and UHD monitors are now more accessible than ever before. We still remember the time when 1080p entered the clutches of the computing market, and all of us considered it a super sharp solution, even on large scale. However, it feels like it’s been forever the golden standard nowadays, and we are finally coming to a turning point where laptops and monitors are been offered with 1440p and 4K panels as standard.

Today, we are going to show you what to expect when you purchase the Dell S2721QS, and if getting this device is actually worth it in the first place. Of course, not all 4K monitors are made the same, but what sets Dell units apart is the versatility and high quality of their stand.

Regarding the image quality of this particular unit, Dell states that it covers 99% of the sRGB color gamut. Furthermore, it comes with FreeSync, as well as two 3W stereo speakers.

You can check the current price of Dell S2721QS here: Buy from Amazon.com (#CommissionsEarned)

Contents

Unboxing and setup

As usual, the packaging includes the disassembled stand, a power cord, an HDMI connector, some regulatory paperwork, as well as a quick setup guide. It is pretty easy to assemble the device – just follow the three-step instructions, and be careful not to damage your new monitor.

Design and construction

If we have to place a purely subjective opinion here, we really like the dual-color design of this monitor. It makes the device stand out while keeping its looks classy. We also like the interesting pattern on the back.

Looking at the front though is where we can observe Dell’s achievements in trimming most of the space around the panel. The top and side bezels are almost nonexistent, while the bottom one is clearly bigger. In the bottom right corner, below the bezel, you will find the OSD menu controls.

And what would a Dell monitor review be if we don’t spare a moment to talk about its stand? It offers every motion imaginable, which makes it a great attribution to any office. Wall mounting is also possible, but you will have to find your own mounting hardware.

Ports

All of the ports are located on the back. There, you will find the power cord plug, two HDMI 2.0 connectors, a DisplayPort 1.2, and an audio jack.

OSD menu

Once you get into the OSD menu, you will see 8 subdivisions, as well as the monitor name and model in the top left corner (of the menu), and the current input port and resolution in the bottom left.

Inside the options, you can find the brightness adjustment, color preset adjustment, sharpness and response time, and more. By the way, the response time option refers to the Overdrive – more on that later.


Display quality

Dell S2721QS is equipped with an IPS-type panel. Its diagonal is 27″ (69 cm), has a resolution of 3840 x 2160 pixels, and a maximum refresh rate of 60Hz. The screen ratio is 16:9, and we are looking at a pixel density of – 163 ppi, and a pitch of 0.16 х 0.16 mm. The screen turns into Retina when viewed at distance equal to or greater than 53cm (31.5″) (from this distance one’s eye stops differentiating the separate pixels).

It has comfortable viewing angles. We offer images at 45° to evaluate image quality.

Also, a video with locked focus and exposure.

We measured a maximum brightness of 397 nits in the middle of the screen (“Custom color” – RGB R100, G100, B100 after Reset). The Correlated Color Temperature on a white screen and maximum brightness is 6570K, which is almost matching the sRGB standard of 6500K.
In the illustration below you can see how the display performs from a uniformity perspective. It is how matters are for operational brightness levels (approximately 140 nits) – in this particular case at 25% Brightness (White level = 143 cd/m2, Black level = 0.13 cd/m2).

Values of dE2000 over 4.0 should not occur, and this parameter is one of the first you should check if you intend to use the monitor for color-sensitive work. The contrast ratio is good – 1060:1.
All tests are made with the monitor connected to an NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060.


To make sure we are on the same page, we would like to give you a little introduction to the sRGB color gamut and the Adobe RGB. To start, there’s the CIE 1976 Uniform Chromaticity Diagram that represents the visible specter of colors by the human eye, giving you a better perception of the color gamut coverage and the color accuracy.

Inside the black triangle, you will see the standard color gamut (sRGB) that is being used by millions of people on HDTV and on the web. As for the Adobe RGB, this is used in professional cameras, monitors, etc for printing. Basically, colors inside the black triangle are used by everyone and this is the essential part of the color quality and color accuracy of a mainstream display.

Still, we’ve included other color spaces like the famous DCI-P3 standard used by movie studios, as well as the digital UHD Rec.2020 standard. Rec.2020, however, is still a thing of the future and it’s difficult for today’s displays to cover that well. We’ve also included the so-called Michael Pointer gamut, or Pointer’s gamut, which represents the colors that naturally occur around us every day.

The yellow dotted line shows Dell S2721QS’s color gamut coverage in the “sRGB” mode in the first graphic and in “Standard” mode in the second.

This display covers 98% of the sRGB/ITU-R BT.709 (web/HDTV standard) in CIE1976.

Our “Design and Gaming” profile delivers optimal color temperature (6500K) at 140 cd/m2 luminance and sRGB encoding curve. We’ve used the “Color temperature User Mode – RGB R100, G94, B100” preset, and compared it to the “sRGB Mode” preset.

We tested the accuracy of the display with 24 commonly used colors like light and dark human skin, blue sky, green grass, orange, etc. You can check out the results at factory condition and also, with the “Design and Gaming” profile.

Below you can compare the scores of Dell S2721QS with the default settings (left), and with the “Gaming and Web design” profile (right). The comparison is made with the “Standard” preset.



The next figure shows how well the display is able to reproduce really dark parts of an image, which is essential when watching movies or playing games in low ambient light.

The left side of the image represents the display with stock settings, while the right one is with the “Gaming and Web Design” profile activated. On the horizontal axis, you will find the grayscale, and on the vertical axis – the luminance of the display. On the two graphs below you can easily check for yourself how your display handles the darkest nuances but keep in mind that this also depends on the settings of your current display, the calibration, the viewing angle, and the surrounding light conditions.

Response time (Gaming capabilities)

The response time of the pixels shouldn’t be slower than the refresh cycle of the screen (16.67 ms for 60Hz, 6.94 ms for 144Hz, and so on). Ultimately, this results in ghosting, caused by the pixel’s inability to change in that amount of time, thus continuing in the next frame. In order to battle that issue, manufacturers use Overdrive. Essentially, this is a technique for RTC (Response Time Compensation). What does it do? Well, it supplies higher voltage to the crystals (in LCD monitors), which makes them switch their position faster. However, excessive levels of Overdrive can result in Overshooting, which transforms into inverse ghosting, coronas, and artifacts, obviously affecting the image quality in a negative way. This is why many manufacturers provide several levels of Overdrive, so you can choose which suits you best.

We test the reaction time of the pixels with the usual “black-to-white” and “white-to-black” method from 10% to 90% and vice versa and maximum brightness.



We test the reaction time of the pixels with the usual “Gray-to-Gray” method from 50% White to 80% White and vice versa between 10% and 90% of the amplitude and maximum brightness.



PWM (Screen flickering)

Pulse-width modulation (PWM) is an easy way to control monitor brightness. When you lower the brightness, the light intensity of the backlight is not lowered, but instead turned off and on by the electronics with a frequency indistinguishable to the human eye. In these light impulses, the light/no-light time ratio varies, while brightness remains unchanged, which is harmful to your eyes. You can read more about that in our dedicated article on PWM.

Dell S2721QS’s backlight is not PW-modulated at any brightness level. This makes it comfortable for your eyes in this aspect even during long working periods. (the results are with “OverClocking” enabled).

Blue light emissions

Installing our Health-Guard profile not only eliminates PWM but also reduces the harmful Blue Light emissions while keeping the colors of the screen perceptually accurate. If you’re not familiar with the Blue light, the TL;DR version is – emissions that negatively affect your eyes, skin, and your whole body. You can find more information about that in our dedicated article on Blue Light.

Gloss level measurement

Glossy-coated displays are sometimes inconvenient in high ambient light conditions. We show the level of reflection on the screen for the respective laptop when the display is turned off and the measurement angle is 60° (in this case, the measurements show a value of 53.4 GU, which is okay).

Buy our profiles

Since our profiles are tailored for each individual display model, this article and its respective profile package are meant for the Dell S2721QS.

In this case, the profiles are ready for work after a factory reset, except for the Gaming and Web design profile, where you need to set the display to the “sRGB mode”. Interestingly, depending on the ambient light and the game you’re playing it is highly possible that the Office Work profile might be more appealing than the Gaming and Web design one.

*Should you have problems with downloading the purchased file, try using a different browser to open the link you’ll receive via e-mail. If the download target is a .php file instead of an archive, change the file extension to .zip or contact us at bg.laptopmedia@gmail.com.

Read more about the profiles HERE.

In addition to receiving efficient and health-friendly profiles, by buying LaptopMedia's products you also support the development of our labs, where we test devices in order to produce the most objective reviews possible.

Office Work

Office Work should be used mostly by users who spend most of the time looking at pieces of text, tables or just surfing. This profile aims to deliver better distinctness and clarity by keeping a flat gamma curve (2.20), native color temperature and perceptually accurate colors.

Design and Gaming

This profile is aimed at designers who work with colors professionally, and for games and movies as well. Design and Gaming takes display panels to their limits, making them as accurate as possible in the sRGB IEC61966-2-1 standard for Web and HDTV, at white point D65.

Health-Guard

Health-Guard eliminates the harmful Pulse-Width Modulation (PWM) and reduces the negative Blue Light which affects our eyes and body. Since it’s custom tailored for every panel, it manages to keep the colors perceptually accurate. Health-Guard simulates paper so the pressure on the eyes is greatly reduced.

Get all 3 profiles with 33% discount

Verdict

Dell S2721QS offers a really detailed image, due to its 4K resolution. In addition, it has a relatively quick pixel response time, good contrast ratio, comfortable viewing angles, and a pretty high maximum brightness. Furthermore, its backlight doesn’t use PWM for brightness adjustment, which means you are safe to use it for as long as you need, without suffering the negative effects of flickering.

As promised, it covers the sRGB color gamut almost fully. By default, the color accuracy could have been better. However, with a lot of time dedicated to calibrating and profiling the panel, we were able to bring its Average dE to a value of under 2.0. This makes it appropriate for professional use.

Architects and civil engineers, for example, would be really happy to work with it. An even better use case would be to get two of these panels and pair them together. The slim bezels will allow a pretty immersive experience, while the evergreen stand can help you turn the monitor to 90°.

Indeed, this is not a gaming panel, but you can definitely play games on it, thanks to the fast pixel response time and FreeSync support. And if you want something more closely dedicated to gaming, you can check out our Alienware AW2521H review – it has a 360Hz refresh rate, which is bonkers!

You can check the current price of Dell S2721QS here: Buy from Amazon.com (#CommissionsEarned)

Pros

  • The optimal size for desktop computing
  • 4K resolution, resulting in a crisp image
  • Well-populated OSD menu
  • Adjustable height, tilt, swivel, and pivot
  • Complete sRGB color gamut coverage and standard-matching dE values (thanks to our profiles)
  • Reasonable price tag


Cons

  • Limited I/O