BEST LAPTOPS FOR GAMES

Top 100 Best Laptops for Apex Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for GTA V Top 100 Best Laptops for Red Dead Redemption 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for ARK: Survival Evolved Top 100 Best Laptops for AC: Odyssey Top 100 Best Laptops for AC Valhalla [AnvilNext 2.0] Top 100 Best Laptops for Battlefield 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Borderlands 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Top 100 Best Laptops for CS:GO Top 100 Best Laptops for Cyberpunk 2077 Top 100 Best Laptops for Darksiders Genesis Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Eternal Top 100 Best Laptops for DOTA 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2021 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry New Dawn Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 19 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 20 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 21 Top 100 Best Laptops for For Honor Top 100 Best Laptops for Fortnite Top 100 Best Laptops for Gears 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Halo: Reach Top 100 Best Laptops for Hearthstone Top 100 Best Laptops for League of Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for Metro Exodus Top 100 Best Laptops for Minecraft Top 100 Best Laptops for Need For Speed Heat Top 100 Best Laptops for Overwatch Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2020 Top 100 Best Laptops for PUBG Top 100 Best Laptops for Resident Evil 2 [RE Engine] Top 100 Best Laptops for Rise of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Rocket League Top 100 Best Laptops for Shadow of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Team Fortress 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for The Witcher 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Wildlands Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Six Siege Top 100 Best Laptops for Total War: THREE KINGDOMS Top 100 Best Laptops for Warframe Top 100 Best Laptops for World of Tanks

联想ThinkBook 16p Gen 2评测–市场上最好的内容创作者笔记本电脑之一

说实话,在新的笔记本电脑上做出购买选择从未如此困难。现在,游戏品牌正变得比以往任何时候都低调,而商务机则得到了一些最强大的硬件。这让内容创作者非常高兴,但也让我们作为评论员的工作变得更加困难。

今天,我们将向你展示ThinkBook 16p Gen 2。一台无法真正归入单一类别的笔记本电脑。它的外观令人惊艳,具有商务设备的安全性,并具有游戏机的冲击力。这意味着大量的人可以从这台笔记本中做出贡献。这包括开发者和内容创作者。

尤其是后者,因为驻扎在光滑机箱中的RTX 3060与英伟达的工作室驱动程序一起工作,能够更好地支持和兼容专业应用程序。这款特殊的笔记本还搭配了最多的Ryzen 9 5900HX,因此冷却将发挥关键作用。

你可以在我们的规格系统中查看价格和配置。 https://laptopmedia.com/series/lenovo-thinkbook-16p-gen-2/

Contents

规格表

联想ThinkBook 16p Gen 2评测–市场上最好的内容创作者笔记本电脑之一 - 规格

  • MNG007DA1-4
  • 颜色精度  3.0  1.4
  • HDD/SSD
  • 以至于 1000GB SSD
  • RAM
  • up to 32GB
  • OS
  • Windows 11 Pro, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home
  • 蓄电池
  • 71Wh
  • 车身材料
  • Aluminum
  • 外形尺寸
  • 356 x 252 x 16.3 ~ 19.9 mm (14.02" x 9.92" x 0.64")
  • 重量
  • 1.99 kg (4.4 lbs)
  • 端口和连接性
  • 2x USB Type-A
  • 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps)
  • 2x USB Type-C
  • 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps), Power Delivery (PD), DisplayPort
  • 读卡器
  • SD
  • Ethernet LAN
  • Wi-Fi
  • 802.11ax
  • Bluetooth
  • 5.2
  • 音频插孔
  • 3.5mm Combo Jack
  • 特点
  • 指纹识别器
  • 网络摄像机
  • HD + FHD
  • 背光键盘
  • 麦克风
  • Dual Array Microphone
  • 扬声器
  • 2x 2W, Harman Speakers
  • 光驱
  • 安全锁槽
  • Kensington Lock Slot

全部 Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 配置

#CommissionsEarned

盒子里有什么?

这台笔记本电脑捆绑了一些纸质手册和一个230W的电源适配器。

设计和结构

正如我们前面所说,ThinkBook 16p Gen 2采用了圆滑的设计。它采用了Legion系列的一些注意事项,而厚度保持在16.3至19.9毫米之间。整体重量从1.99公斤开始。联想在盖子和底座上使用了阳极氧化铝,后者具有极高的刚性,其底盘几乎没有弯曲。

由于铰链光滑,盖子只需一只手就能轻松打开。这显示了一个16:10的显示屏,四周都是薄边框。与苹果相反,联想依靠一个大缺口,这并不影响实际的屏幕。相反,它在盖子的顶部边缘突出了一点。这里的摄像头可以是720p或1080p的装置。两者都配备了隐私快门,但奇怪的是,只有低分辨率的版本配备了可选的红外面部识别扫描仪。

转到底座,我们看到一个大的防溢出键盘。它有良好的键程,点击反馈,以及一个数字键盘部分。此外,它还具有背光功能。最终,我们发现它是外面的好键盘之一,这种说法因缺乏严重的甲板弯曲和巨大的方向键而进一步加强。

在它的下面,你会发现一个玻璃表面的触摸板,大小合适。它的点击机制令人满意,而滑行和跟踪也很到位。

把笔记本电脑倒过来,可以看到两个扬声器的切口和通风格栅。有趣的是,有四个排气口,这在与商业有关的产品中是很罕见的。

端口

在左侧,有一个音频插孔和一个SD读卡器,而在右侧,你会发现两个USB Type-C 3.2(Gen. 2)端口和一个Kensington插槽。这还不是全部,因为背面有两个USB Type-A 3.2 (Gen. 2)端口和一个电源接口。

拆卸、升级选项和维护

八个Torx头的螺丝将这个设备的底板固定在机箱上。拧开后,用塑料工具撬开面板,把它抬走。

在里面,你可以看到一个71Wh的电池。如果你想的话,你可以把电池拿出来。要做到这一点,要解开四个十字头螺丝。其中一个隐藏在位于左边插槽的SSD下面。在右边还有一个M.2 PCIe x4插槽。

在内存方面,你有一个SODIMM插槽用于扩展。除此以外,还有8或16GB的焊接DDR4内存。

说到冷却,有三根热管–CPU和GPU之间共享一根,每根都有一个。此外,还有第四根热管管理VRM的温度。最后,四个散热器通过两个风扇进行散热。

显示质量

在我们测试的配置中,联想ThinkBook 16p Gen 2有一块60Hz的WQXGA IPS面板–MNG007DA1-4(LEN8A97)。其对角线为16英寸(40.6厘米),分辨率为2560х1600像素。屏幕比例为16:10,我们看到的像素密度为-189 ppi,间距为0.13 х 0.13 mm。在等于或大于46厘米(18英寸)的距离上看,屏幕变成了视网膜(从这个距离上看,人的眼睛不再区分独立的像素,这对看笔记本来说是正常的)。

可视角度很好。我们提供45°的图像来评估图像质量。

此外,还有一个锁定焦点和曝光的视频。

我们测得屏幕中间的最大亮度为370尼特,整个区域的平均亮度为359尼特,最大偏差为6%。白色屏幕上的相关色温为6580K–几乎符合6500K的sRGB标准的最佳值。
在下面的插图中,你可以看到主显示器从均匀性的角度来看的表现。换句话说,就是光源的漏光情况。

dE2000的值不应该超过4.0,如果你打算用笔记本电脑进行色彩敏感的工作,这个参数是你应该首先检查的参数之一。对比度非常好 – 1740:1。

为了确保我们在同一起跑线上,我们想给你介绍一下sRGB色域和Adobe RGB。首先,有一个CIE 1976统一色度图,它代表了人眼可见的颜色光谱,让你更好地感知色域的覆盖范围和颜色的准确性。

在黑色三角形内,你会看到标准色域(sRGB),它被数百万人在高清电视和网络上使用。至于Adobe RGB,这是用于专业相机、显示器等的打印。基本上,黑三角内的颜色被大家使用,这也是主流笔记本的色彩质量和色彩准确性的重要部分。

尽管如此,我们还是包括了其他色彩空间,如电影公司使用的著名的DCI-P3标准,以及数字UHD Rec.2020标准。然而,Rec.2020仍然是未来的事情,今天的显示器很难很好地覆盖它。我们还包括所谓的迈克尔-波因特色域,或波因特色域,它代表了每天自然发生在我们周围的颜色。

黄色虚线表示联想ThinkBook 16p Gen 2的色域覆盖率。

它的显示屏覆盖了CIE1976的sRGB/ITU-R BT.709(网络/高清电视标准)的91%

你可以通过x-Rite色彩助理应用程序从几个预设中挑选一个。


我们的 “设计和游戏 “配置文件在140cd/m2的亮度和sRGB伽玛模式下提供最佳的色温(6500K)。

我们用24种常用的颜色测试了显示器的准确性,如人类皮肤的浅色和深色、蓝天、绿草、橙色等。你可以在工厂条件下查看结果,也可以在 “设计和游戏 “配置文件下查看。

下面你可以比较联想ThinkBook 16p Gen 2在默认设置下的得分(左边是x-Rite Color Assistant启用的sRGB配置文件,右边是 “游戏和网页设计 “配置文件。

下图显示了显示器对图像中真正的黑暗部分的再现能力,这在低环境光下看电影或玩游戏时是至关重要的。

图片的左边代表了原始设置下的显示器,而右边则是激活了 “游戏和网页设计 “配置文件。在横轴上,你会发现灰度,而在纵轴上–显示器的亮度。在下面的两张图中,你可以很容易地自己检查你的显示器如何处理最暗的细微差别,但请记住,这也取决于你当前显示器的设置、校准、视角和周围的光线条件。

响应时间(游戏能力)

我们用通常的 “黑到白 “和 “白到黑 “的方法测试像素的反应时间,从10%到90%,反之亦然。

我们记录了下降时间+上升时间=23ms

之后,我们用通常的 “从灰到灰 “的方法测试像素的反应时间,从50%的白色到80%的白色,反之,在10%到90%的振幅之间。

PWM(屏幕闪动)

脉宽调制(PWM)是控制显示器亮度的一个简单方法。当你降低亮度时,背光的光强度并没有降低,而是由电子装置以人眼无法分辨的频率关闭和开启。在这些光脉冲中,光/无光的时间比例变化,而亮度保持不变,这对你的眼睛是有害的。你可以在我们关于PWM的专门文章中阅读更多相关内容。

联想ThinkBook 16p Gen 2的显示屏在任何时候都不使用PWM来调整其亮度。这意味着它在长时间的游戏过程中是舒适的,不会在这方面伤害到你的眼睛。

蓝光排放

安装我们的Health-Guard配置文件,不仅可以消除PWM,还可以减少有害的蓝光排放,同时保持屏幕颜色的感观准确。如果你对蓝光不熟悉,TL;DR版本是–对你的眼睛、皮肤和整个身体产生负面影响的排放。你可以在我们关于蓝光的专门文章中找到更多相关信息。

购买我们的资料

由于我们的配置文件是为每个单独的显示器模型量身定做的,这篇文章和其各自的配置文件包是为联想ThinkBook 16p Gen 2配置的16英寸WQXGA IPS MNG007DA1-4(LEN8A97)准备的。

*如果你在下载购买的文件时遇到问题,请尝试使用不同的浏览器来打开你通过电子邮件收到的链接。如果下载目标是一个.php文件,而不是一个档案,请将文件扩展名改为.zip,或与我们联系,bg.laptopmedia@gmail.com。

点击这里阅读更多关于档案的信息。

除了获得高效和健康友好的配置文件,购买LaptopMedia的产品,您还可以支持我们实验室的发展,我们在实验室测试设备,以产生最客观的评论。

办公室工作

Office Work应该主要由那些花大部分时间看文本、表格或仅仅是浏览的用户使用。该配置文件旨在通过保持平坦的伽玛曲线(2.20)、本机色温和精确的色彩来提供更好的清晰度。

设计与游戏

本资料针对专业处理色彩的设计师,以及游戏和电影。设计与游戏》将显示面板发挥到了极致,使其在白点D65的网页和高清电视的sRGB IEC61966-2-1标准中尽可能准确。

卫生保健

Health-Guard消除了有害的脉宽调制(PWM),并减少了影响我们的眼睛和身体的负蓝光。 由于它是针对每个面板量身定制的,因此可以保持色彩在视觉上的准确性。 Health-Guard模拟纸张,因此大大减轻了眼睛的压力。

Get all 3 profiles with 33% discount

声音

联想ThinkBook 16p第2代的哈曼扬声器产生的声音质量很好。整个频谱都没有偏差。

驱动程序

这款笔记本的所有驱动程序和实用程序都可以在这里找到。 https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/laptops-and-netbooks/thinkbook-series/thinkbook-16p-g2-ach/downloads/driver-list

电池

现在,我们进行电池测试,打开Windows更好的性能设置,屏幕亮度调整到120尼特,并关闭所有其他程序,除了我们正在测试笔记本的程序。这台笔记本电脑的71瓦时电池可持续11小时7分钟的网络浏览,或6小时34分钟的视频播放。

CPU选项

该设备可以找到Ryzen 5 5600H,Ryzen 7 5800H,以及Ryzen 9 5900HX。

GPU选项

对于图形,你可以得到GeForce RTX 3060,拥有6GB GDDR6内存和75W TGP。此外,它还配备了NVIDIA Studio驱动程序,以便在创意应用程序中获得更好的可靠性和支持。

游戏测试

地铁出埃及记全高清,低(检查设置)全高清,高(检查设置)全高清,极限(检查设置)
平均FPS132 fps64 fps31帧

边境地区3全高清,中等(检查设置)全高清,高(检查设置)全高清,坏蛋(检查设置)
平均帧数98帧79 fps64帧

汤姆克兰西的幽灵行动荒地全高清,高(检查设置)全高清,非常高(检查设置)全高清,超高清(检查设置)
平均值100 fps85 fps55帧

古墓丽影》(2018)全高清,中(检查设置)全高清,高(检查设置)全高清,最高(检查设置)
平均值108 fps103 fps69帧

温度和舒适度

CPU最大负荷

在这个测试中,我们在CPU核心上使用100%,监测其频率和芯片温度。第一栏显示计算机对短负荷(2-10秒)的反应,第二栏模拟一个严肃的任务(15-30秒之间),第三栏是一个很好的指标,说明笔记本电脑对长负荷的反应如何,如视频渲染。

平均核心频率(基本频率+X);CPU温度。

AMD Ryzen 5 5600H (45W TDP)0:02 – 0:10 秒0:15 – 0:30秒10:00 – 15:00 分钟
联想ThinkBook 16p第二代3.68 GHz (B+12%) @ 86°C3.67 GHz (B+11%) @ 93°C3.53 GHz (B+7%) @ 100°C
华硕Vivobook Pro 15 OLED (M3500)3.52 GHz (B+7%) @ 78°C3.58 GHz (B+8%) @ 94°C3.40 GHz (B+3%) @ 90°C
Acer Nitro 5 (AN515-45)3.57 GHz (B+8%) @ 69°C3.47 GHz (B+5%) @ 69°C3.56 GHz (B+8%) @ 82°C
联想Yoga Slim 7 Pro (14)3.43 GHz (B+4%) @ 78°C3.35 GHz (B+2%) @ 88°C3.06 GHz @ 93°C
联想Legion 5 Pro (16″)3.77 GHz (B+14%) @ 84°C3.79 GHz (B+15%) @ 89°C3.76 GHz (B+14%) @ 97°C

联想的Extreme Performance预设在这里肯定发挥了作用,因为Ryzen 5600H被推到了冷却所能应付的程度。然而,测试结束时的温度为100℃,这有点令人担忧。

现实生活中的游戏

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060GPU频率/核心温度(2分钟后)GPU频率/核心温度(30分钟后)GPU频率/核心温度(最大风扇)
联想ThinkBook 16p第二代1535 MHz @ 69°C @ 75W1517 MHz @ 76°C @ 75W
联想Legion 5i (17″ Intel, 2021)1886 MHz @ 75°C @ 127W1879 MHz @ 76°C @ 127W
戴尔XPS 17 97101396 MHz @ 71°C @ 70W1403 MHz @ 71°C @ 70W
联想Legion 7 (16″, 2021)1867 MHz @ 70°C @ 126W1858 MHz @ 74°C @ 127W
联想Legion 5 (15″ AMD, 2021)1831 MHz @ 75°C @ 129W1815 MHz @ 80°C @ 129W
联想Legion 5 Pro (16″)1803 MHz @ 76°C @ 129W1787 MHz @ 81°C @ 129W
MSI GP66 Leopard1863 MHz @ 72°C @ 124W1852 MHz @ 75°C @ 125W1849 MHz @ 69°C @ 127W
微星GP76 Leopard1860 MHz @ 71°C @ 129W1857 MHz @ 73°C @ 128W1869 MHz @ 67°C @ 128W

另一方面,这台笔记本电脑在图形测试中表现非常好,在30分钟的游戏后,它的温度高达76℃,性能几乎没有下降。值得一提的是,该设备配备了一个MUX开关,所以你可以提取75W TGP的每一滴。

游戏舒适度

有趣的是,这台笔记本电脑从来没有太大声。不管我们是在谈论游戏还是计算。说到这里,它在外面最热的时候是在键盘中间的47℃。

评语

如果这就是未来的模样,那么我们真的很兴奋。联想成功地将游戏笔记本的力量、商务设备的风格和内容创造者机器的多功能性结合到一台光滑的笔记本电脑中。而且它成功地做到了这一点。我们从手头的硬件中看到了非常好的性能,唯一的小插曲是在长时间的压力下CPU的温度过高。

但可以说在这方面最好的功能是MUX开关。它允许你在可切换的图形和直接连接到专用GPU之间进行切换,确保你利用这台笔记本电脑提供的全部马力。

联想ThinkBook 16p Gen 2的IPS面板(MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97))具有高分辨率,16:10的长宽比,宽广的视角,以及非常好的对比度。值得庆幸的是,它没有使用PWM进行亮度调节。对于专业人士来说,更有吸引力的是,在我们的游戏和网页设计配置文件的帮助下,它的色彩精确度与sRGB标准相匹配。

此外,还有一个SD读卡器,可以快速访问你的照片和视频,以及两个M.2 PCIe x4插槽,所以你可以存储它们。虽然没有找到HDMI接口,但两个USB Type-C端口都可以输出DisplayPort信号,用于60Hz时分辨率高达5K的屏幕。

值得庆幸的是,联想为你提供了一些安全功能,包括相机隐私快门、可选的红外面部识别扫描仪和嵌入电源按钮的指纹识别器。

这里的71瓦时电池可以满足11小时的网络浏览,或6个半小时的视频播放。后者不是很令人兴奋,但230W的充电适配器让你只需30分钟就能充满50%的电池。

不在最后的位置,有的地方是建造的质量和输入设备的舒适性。这导致了一个超级全能的笔记本电脑。如果你考虑到NVIDIA Studio驱动程序的支持,你的内容创作者应该真的很高兴去买ThinkBook 16p Gen 2。

你可以在我们的规格系统中查看价格和配置。 https://laptopmedia.com/series/lenovo-thinkbook-16p-gen-2/

Pros

  • 薄而轻的装备
  • 强大的铝制机箱
  • 覆盖91%的sRGB色域,并通过我们的游戏和网页设计配置文件(MNG007DA1-4(LEN8A97))具有准确的色彩表现力
  • 高分辨率和16:10长宽比(MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97))。
  • 无PWM (MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97))
  • SD卡插槽
  • 在同类产品中表现出色
  • 红外人脸识别+指纹识别器
  • 英伟达工作室驱动程序


Cons

  • 长时间加载时CPU会变热
  • 没有HDMI接口

Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 review – one of the best content creator laptops on the market

Honestly, making a purchase choice on a new laptop has never been more difficult. Now that gaming brands are becoming more lowkey than ever, while business machines are getting some of the most powerful hardware available. This makes content creators extremely happy but makes our job as reviewers even more difficult.

Today, we’re going to show you the ThinkBook 16p Gen 2. A laptop that can’t really be put into a single category. It looks stunning, bares the security of a business device, and packs the punch of a gaming machine. This means a huge amount of people can contribute from the notebook. This includes both developers and content creators.

Especially the latter, as the RTX 3060 that resides in the sleek chassis, works with NVIDIA’s studio drivers, enabling better support and compatibility with professional apps. This particular notebook is also paired with up to the Ryzen 9 5900HX, so the cooling will play a critical role.

You can check the prices and configurations in our Specs System: https://laptopmedia.com/series/lenovo-thinkbook-16p-gen-2/

Contents


Specs Sheet

Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 - Specs

  • MNG007DA1-4
  • Color accuracy  3.0  1.4
  • HDD/SSD
  • up to 1000GB SSD
  • M.2 Slot
  • 2x 2280 M.2 NVMe slots  See photo
  • RAM
  • up to 32GB
  • OS
  • Windows 11 Pro, Windows 10 Pro, Windows 10 Home
  • Battery
  • 71Wh
  • Body material
  • Aluminum
  • Dimensions
  • 356 x 252 x 16.3 ~ 19.9 mm (14.02" x 9.92" x 0.64")
  • Weight
  • 1.99 kg (4.4 lbs)
  • Ports and connectivity
  • 2x USB Type-A
  • 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps)
  • 2x USB Type-C
  • 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps), Power Delivery (PD), DisplayPort
  • Card reader
  • SD
  • Ethernet LAN
  • Wi-Fi
  • 802.11ax
  • Bluetooth
  • 5.2
  • Audio jack
  • 3.5mm Combo Jack
  • Features
  • Fingerprint reader
  • Web camera
  • HD + FHD
  • Backlit keyboard
  • Microphone
  • Dual Array Microphone
  • Speakers
  • 2x 2W, Harman Speakers
  • Optical drive
  • Security Lock slot
  • Kensington Lock Slot

All Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 configurations

#CommissionsEarned

What’s in the box?

This laptop comes bundled with some paper manuals and a 230W power adapter.


Design and construction

As we said earlier, the ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 features a sleek design. It uses some notes from the Legion series while remaining between 16.3 and 19.9mm thick. The overall weight starts from 1.99 kilos. Lenovo uses anodized aluminum for the lid and the base, with the latter having supreme rigidity with almost no flex in its chassis.

Thanks to the smooth hinges, the lid opens easily with a single hand. This reveals a 16:10 display with thin bezels all around. Contrary to Apple, Lenovo relies on a large notch, which doesn’t interfere with the actual screen. Instead, it protrudes a bit over the top rim of the lid. The camera here can be either a 720p or a 1080p unit. Both of them are equipped with a privacy shutter, but weirdly, only the lower res version comes with an optional IR face recognition scanner.

Moving to the base, we see a large spill-resistant keyboard. It has good key travel, clicky feedback, and a NumPad section. Also, it features a backlight. Ultimately, we find it one of the good keyboards out there, and this statement is further enhanced by the lack of severe deck flex and the huge Arrow keys.

Beneath it, you will find a glass-surfaced touchpad of decent size. Its clicking mechanism is satisfying, while the gliding and tracking are on point.

Turn the laptop upside down to see the two speaker cutouts and the ventilation grill. Interestingly, there are four exhaust vents, which is a rarity in business-related products.

Ports

On the left side, there is an audio jack, and an SD card reader, while on the right, you will find two USB Type-C 3.2 (Gen. 2) ports and a Kensington slot. That’s not all, as the backside houses two USB Type-A 3.2 (Gen. 2) ports and a power connector.


Disassembly, upgrade options, and maintenance

Eight Torx-head screws are holding this device’s bottom panel to the chassis. After you undo them, pry the panel with a plastic tool and lift it away.

Inside, you can see a 71Wh battery. You can take the battery out if you want to. To do that, undo four Phillips-head screws. One of them is hidden beneath the SSD located in the left slot. There is one more M.2 PCIe x4 slot on the right as well.

In terms of memory, you get one SODIMM slot for expansion. In addition to that, there are either 8 or 16GB of soldered DDR4 RAM.

When it comes to cooling, there are three heat pipes – one shared between the CPU and the GPU, and one for each of them. Additionally, there is a fourth heat pipe managing the temperature of the VRMs. Lastly, four heat sinks dissipate the heat thanks to two fans.


Display quality

Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 in the configuration we tested has a 60Hz WQXGA IPS panel – MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97). Its diagonal is 16-inch (40.6 cm), and the resolution is 2560 х 1600 pixels. The screen ratio is 16:10, and we are looking at a pixel density of – 189 ppi, and a pitch of 0.13 х 0.13 mm. The screen turns into Retina when viewed at distance equal to or greater than 46cm (18″) (from this distance one’s eye stops differentiating the separate pixels, and it is normal for looking at a laptop).

Viewing angles are excellent. We offer images at 45° to evaluate image quality.

Also, a video with locked focus and exposure.

We measured a maximum brightness of 370 nits in the middle of the screen and 359 nits as an average for the whole area, with a maximum deviation of 6%. The Correlated Color Temperature on a white screen is 6580K – almost matching the optimal for the sRGB standard of 6500K.
In the illustration below you can see how the main display performs from a uniformity perspective. In other words, the leakage of light from the light source.

Values of dE2000 over 4.0 should not occur, and this parameter is one of the first you should check if you intend to use the laptop for color-sensitive work. The contrast ratio is very good – 1740:1.

To make sure we are on the same page, we would like to give you a little introduction to the sRGB color gamut and the Adobe RGB. To start, there’s the CIE 1976 Uniform Chromaticity Diagram that represents the visible specter of colors by the human eye, giving you a better perception of the color gamut coverage and the color accuracy.

Inside the black triangle, you will see the standard color gamut (sRGB) that is being used by millions of people on HDTV and on the web. As for the Adobe RGB, this is used in professional cameras, monitors, etc for printing. Basically, colors inside the black triangle are used by everyone and this is the essential part of the color quality and color accuracy of a mainstream notebook.

Still, we’ve included other color spaces like the famous DCI-P3 standard used by movie studios, as well as the digital UHD Rec.2020 standard. Rec.2020, however, is still a thing of the future and it’s difficult for today’s displays to cover that well. We’ve also included the so-called Michael Pointer gamut, or Pointer’s gamut, which represents the colors that naturally occur around us every day.

The yellow dotted line shows Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2’s color gamut coverage.

Its display covers 91% of the sRGB/ITU-R BT.709 (web/HDTV standard) in CIE1976.

You can pick one of several presets through the x-Rite Color Assistant app.


Our “Design and Gaming” profile delivers optimal color temperature (6500K) at 140 cd/m2 luminance and sRGB gamma mode.

We tested the accuracy of the display with 24 commonly used colors like light and dark human skin, blue sky, green grass, orange, etc. You can check out the results at factory condition and also, with the “Design and Gaming” profile.

Below you can compare the scores of Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 with the default settings (and enabled sRGB profile from x-Rite Color Assistant – left, and with the “Gaming and Web design” profile – right.

The next figure shows how well the display is able to reproduce really dark parts of an image, which is essential when watching movies or playing games in low ambient light.

The left side of the image represents the display with stock settings, while the right one is with the “Gaming and Web Design” profile activated. On the horizontal axis, you will find the grayscale, and on the vertical axis – the luminance of the display. On the two graphs below you can easily check for yourself how your display handles the darkest nuances but keep in mind that this also depends on the settings of your current display, the calibration, the viewing angle, and the surrounding light conditions.

Response time (Gaming capabilities)

We test the reaction time of the pixels with the usual “black-to-white” and “white-to-black” method from 10% to 90% and vice versa.

We recorded Fall Time + Rise Time = 23 ms.

After that, we test the reaction time of the pixels with the usual “Gray-to-Gray” method from 50% White to 80% White and vice versa between 10% and 90% of the amplitude.


PWM (Screen flickering)

Pulse-width modulation (PWM) is an easy way to control monitor brightness. When you lower the brightness, the light intensity of the backlight is not lowered, but instead turned off and on by the electronics with a frequency indistinguishable to the human eye. In these light impulses, the light/no-light time ratio varies, while brightness remains unchanged, which is harmful to your eyes. You can read more about that in our dedicated article on PWM.

Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2’s display doesn’t use PWM to adjust its brightness at any point. This means it is comfortable for long gaming sessions without harming your eyes in this aspect.

Blue light emissions

Installing our Health-Guard profile not only eliminates PWM but also reduces the harmful Blue Light emissions while keeping the colors of the screen perceptually accurate. If you’re not familiar with the Blue light, the TL;DR version is – emissions that negatively affect your eyes, skin, and your whole body. You can find more information about that in our dedicated article on Blue Light.

Buy our profiles

Since our profiles are tailored for each individual display model, this article and its respective profile package are meant for Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 configurations with 16″ WQXGA IPS MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97).

*Should you have problems with downloading the purchased file, try using a different browser to open the link you’ll receive via e-mail. If the download target is a .php file instead of an archive, change the file extension to .zip or contact us at [email protected]

Read more about the profiles HERE.

In addition to receiving efficient and health-friendly profiles, by buying LaptopMedia's products you also support the development of our labs, where we test devices in order to produce the most objective reviews possible.

Office Work

Office Work should be used mostly by users who spend most of the time looking at pieces of text, tables or just surfing. This profile aims to deliver better distinctness and clarity by keeping a flat gamma curve (2.20), native color temperature and perceptually accurate colors.

Design and Gaming

This profile is aimed at designers who work with colors professionally, and for games and movies as well. Design and Gaming takes display panels to their limits, making them as accurate as possible in the sRGB IEC61966-2-1 standard for Web and HDTV, at white point D65.

Health-Guard

Health-Guard eliminates the harmful Pulse-Width Modulation (PWM) and reduces the negative Blue Light which affects our eyes and body. Since it’s custom tailored for every panel, it manages to keep the colors perceptually accurate. Health-Guard simulates paper so the pressure on the eyes is greatly reduced.

Get all 3 profiles with 33% discount


Sound

Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2’s Harman speakers produce a sound of good quality. There are no deviations across the entire frequency spectrum.


Drivers

All of the drivers and utilities for this notebook can be found here: https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/laptops-and-netbooks/thinkbook-series/thinkbook-16p-g2-ach/downloads/driver-list

Battery

Now, we conduct the battery tests with Windows Better performance setting turned on, screen brightness adjusted to 120 nits, and all other programs turned off except for the one we are testing the notebook with. This laptop’s 71Wh battery lasts for 11 hours and 7 minutes of Web browsing, or 6 hours and 34 minutes of video playback.

In order to simulate real-life conditions, we used our own script for automatic web browsing through over 70 websites.


CPU options

The device can be found with a Ryzen 5 5600H, Ryzen 7 5800H, and Ryzen 9 5900HX.


GPU options

And for the graphics, you get the GeForce RTX 3060 with 6GB of GDDR6 memory and 75W TGP. Moreover, it comes with NVIDIA Studio drivers for better reliability and support in creativity apps.


Gaming tests

Metro Exodus Full HD, Low (Check settings) Full HD, High (Check settings) Full HD, Extreme (Check settings)
Average FPS 132 fps 64 fps 31 fps

Borderlands 3 Full HD, Medium (Check settings) Full HD, High (Check settings) Full HD, Badass (Check settings)
Average fps 98 fps 79 fps 64 fps

Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Wildlands Full HD, High (Check settings) Full HD, Very High (Check settings) Full HD, Ultra (Check settings)
Average 100 fps 85 fps 55 fps

Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018) Full HD, Medium (Check settings) Full HD, High (Check settings) Full HD, Highest (Check settings)
Average 108 fps 103 fps 69 fps

Temperatures and comfort

Max CPU load

In this test we use 100% on the CPU cores, monitoring their frequencies and chip temperature. The first column shows a computer’s reaction to a short load (2-10 seconds), the second column simulates a serious task (between 15 and 30 seconds), and the third column is a good indicator of how good the laptop is for long loads such as video rendering.

Average core frequency (base frequency + X); CPU temp.

AMD Ryzen 5 5600H (45W TDP) 0:02 – 0:10 sec 0:15 – 0:30 sec 10:00 – 15:00 min
Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 3.68 GHz (B+12%) @ 86°C 3.67 GHz (B+11%) @ 93°C 3.53 GHz (B+7%) @ 100°C
ASUS Vivobook Pro 15 OLED (M3500) 3.52 GHz (B+7%) @ 78°C 3.58 GHz (B+8%) @ 94°C 3.40 GHz (B+3%) @ 90°C
Acer Nitro 5 (AN515-45) 3.57 GHz (B+8%) @ 69°C 3.47 GHz (B+5%) @ 69°C 3.56 GHz (B+8%) @ 82°C
Lenovo Yoga Slim 7 Pro (14) 3.43 GHz (B+4%) @ 78°C 3.35 GHz (B+2%) @ 88°C 3.06 GHz @ 93°C
Lenovo Legion 5 Pro (16″) 3.77 GHz (B+14%) @ 84°C 3.79 GHz (B+15%) @ 89°C 3.76 GHz (B+14%) @ 97°C

Lenovo’s Extreme Performance preset here definitely does its job, as the Ryzen 5 5600H is being pushed as hard as the cooling can cope. However, it’s a bit worrying that the temperature at the end of the test was 100°C.

Real-life gaming

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 GPU frequency/ Core temp (after 2 min) GPU frequency/ Core temp (after 30 min) GPU frequency/ Core temp (Max Fan)
Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2 1535 MHz @ 69°C @ 75W 1517 MHz @ 76°C @ 75W
Lenovo Legion 5i (17″ Intel, 2021) 1886 MHz @ 75°C @ 127W 1879 MHz @ 76°C @ 127W
Dell XPS 17 9710 1396 MHz @ 71°C @ 70W 1403 MHz @ 71°C @ 70W
Lenovo Legion 7 (16″, 2021) 1867 MHz @ 70°C @ 126W 1858 MHz @ 74°C @ 127W
Lenovo Legion 5 (15″ AMD, 2021) 1831 MHz @ 75°C @ 129W 1815 MHz @ 80°C @ 129W
Lenovo Legion 5 Pro (16″) 1803 MHz @ 76°C @ 129W 1787 MHz @ 81°C @ 129W
MSI GP66 Leopard 1863 MHz @ 72°C @ 124W 1852 MHz @ 75°C @ 125W 1849 MHz @ 69°C @ 127W
MSI GP76 Leopard 1860 MHz @ 71°C @ 129W 1857 MHz @ 73°C @ 128W 1869 MHz @ 67°C @ 128W

On the other hand, the laptop performs really well in the graphics test, where it got up to 76°C with nearly no drop in performance after 30 minutes of gameplay. It’s worth mentioning that the device comes with a MUX switch, so you can extract every single drop of the 75W TGP.

Gaming comfort

It is interesting that the laptop was never too loud. No matter if we’re talking about gaming or computing. With that said, the warmest it got on the outside was 47°C in the middle of the keyboard.


Verdict

If this is how the future looks like, then we are really excited about it. Lenovo managed to combine the power of a gaming notebook, the style of a business device, and the versatility of a content creator machine into one sleek laptop. And it did it successfully. We saw a very good performance from the hardware we had on hand, with the only hiccup being the high temperature of the CPU after long periods of stress.

But arguably the best feature in this regard is the MUX switch. It allows you to toggle between switchable graphics, and direct connection to the dedicated GPU, ensuring you take advantage of the full horsepower this laptop provides.

Lenovo ThinkBook 16p Gen 2’s IPS panel (MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97)) has a high resolution, 16:10 aspect ratio, wide viewing angles, and a very good contrast ratio. Thankfully, it doesn’t use PWM for brightness adjustment. What is even more appealing for professionals, is the fact that it has a color accuracy that matches the sRGB standard with the help of our Gaming and Web design profile.

Moreover, there is an SD card reader for quick access to your photos and videos, as well as two M.2 PCIe x4 slots so you can store them. And although there is no HDMI connector to be found, both USB Type-C ports can output a DisplayPort signal for screens of up to 5K resolution at 60Hz.

Thankfully, Lenovo provides you with some security features, including a camera privacy shutter, an optional IR face recognition scanner and a fingerprint reader embedded onto the power button.

The 71Wh battery here is good for 11 hours of Web browsing, or 6 hours and a half of video playback. The latter is not very exciting, but the 230W charging adapter allows you to fill 50% of the battery for only 30 minutes.

Not in the last place, there is the quality of the build and the comfort of the input devices. This results in a superb all-around laptop. And if you consider the NVIDIA Studio drivers support, the content creator in you should really be happy to go for the ThinkBook 16p Gen 2.

You can check the prices and configurations in our Specs System: https://laptopmedia.com/series/lenovo-thinkbook-16p-gen-2/

Pros

  • Thin and light outfit
  • Strong aluminum chassis
  • Covers 91% of the sRGB color gamut and has accurate color representation with our Gaming and Web design profile (MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97))
  • High resolution and 16:10 aspect ratio (MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97))
  • No PWM (MNG007DA1-4 (LEN8A97))
  • SD card slot
  • Great performance for its class
  • IR face recognition + fingerprint reader
  • NVIDIA Studio drivers


Cons

  • CPU gets toasty during long loads
  • No HDMI connector

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Fran
Fran
1 year ago

Thanks for review!
Will you try the Inspiron 16 Plus?