BEST LAPTOPS FOR GAMES

Top 100 Best Laptops for Apex Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for GTA V Top 100 Best Laptops for Red Dead Redemption 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for ARK: Survival Evolved Top 100 Best Laptops for AC: Odyssey Top 100 Best Laptops for AC Valhalla [AnvilNext 2.0] Top 100 Best Laptops for Battlefield 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Borderlands 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Top 100 Best Laptops for CS:GO Top 100 Best Laptops for Cyberpunk 2077 Top 100 Best Laptops for Darksiders Genesis Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Eternal Top 100 Best Laptops for DOTA 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2021 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry New Dawn Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 19 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 20 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 21 Top 100 Best Laptops for For Honor Top 100 Best Laptops for Fortnite Top 100 Best Laptops for Gears 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Halo: Reach Top 100 Best Laptops for Hearthstone Top 100 Best Laptops for League of Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for Metro Exodus Top 100 Best Laptops for Minecraft Top 100 Best Laptops for Need For Speed Heat Top 100 Best Laptops for Overwatch Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2020 Top 100 Best Laptops for PUBG Top 100 Best Laptops for Resident Evil 2 [RE Engine] Top 100 Best Laptops for Rise of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Rocket League Top 100 Best Laptops for Shadow of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Team Fortress 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for The Witcher 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Wildlands Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Six Siege Top 100 Best Laptops for Total War: THREE KINGDOMS Top 100 Best Laptops for Warframe Top 100 Best Laptops for World of Tanks

戴尔Latitude 14 3420评测–有些配置确实不错

我们再次对戴尔的一款最实惠的商务笔记本进行了审查。好吧,我们不应该如此粗心地使用 “负担得起 “这样的字眼,因为该设备的适当配置需要近1000美元。

值得庆幸的是,你有相当多的处理器可以选择。它跨越了从赛扬6305U,一直到酷睿i7-1165G7。顺便说一下,配备赛扬CPU的配置从500美元左右开始,但它们在性能方面非常有限。

除此之外,你可以选择三种显示器。第一个是768p的TN面板,应该不惜一切代价避免使用。然后,有一个1080p的IPS面板,它的色彩覆盖面很窄,但却是商业计算的甜蜜点。最后一个据说覆盖100%的sRGB色域,应该适合对颜色敏感的工作。

在我们看测试结果之前,让我们把笔记本电脑从盒子里拿出来,看看外面不可避免的成本削减措施。

你可以在我们的规格系统中查看价格和配置。 https://laptopmedia.com/series/dell-latitude-14-3420/

Contents

规格表

戴尔Latitude 14 3420评测–有些配置确实不错 - 规格

  • Sharp XWXRY-LQ140M1 (SHP1542)
  • 颜色精度  3.3  3.4
  • HDD/SSD
  • 以至于 512GB SSD + 以至于 500GB HDD
  • RAM
  • up to 32GB
  • OS
  • Windows 10 Pro, Windows 11 Pro, Windows 10 Home
  • 蓄电池
  • 54Wh, 4-cell, 41Wh, 3-cell
  • 车身材料
  • Plastic / Polycarbonate
  • 外形尺寸
  • 326 x 226 x 17.60 mm (12.83" x 8.90" x 0.69")
  • 重量
  • 1.52 kg (3.4 lbs)
  • 端口和连接性
  • 1x USB Type-A
  • 2.0
  • 1x USB Type-A
  • 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps)
  • 1x USB Type-A
  • 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps), Sleep and Charge
  • 1x USB Type-C
  • 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps), Power Delivery (PD), DisplayPort
  • HDMI
  • 1.4a
  • 读卡器
  • microSD (SD/SDHC/SDXC)
  • Ethernet LAN
  • 10, 100, 1000 Mbit/s
  • Wi-Fi
  • 802.11ax
  • Bluetooth
  • 5.1
  • 音频插孔
  • 3.5mm Combo Jack
  • 特点
  • 指纹识别器
  • 网络摄像机
  • HD
  • 背光键盘
  • optional
  • 麦克风
  • Digital Array Microphones
  • 扬声器
  • 2x 2W, Stereo Speakers
  • 光驱
  • 安全锁槽
  • Wedge Lock Slot

盒子里有什么?

在包装内,你会发现强制性的文书工作,以及一个65W的USB Type-C电源适配器。没有比这更多的标准了。

设计和结构

很明显,这个设备完全由塑料制成。它的重量为1.52公斤,外形为17.6毫米,这使得它相当紧凑。另一方面,这种塑料材料在结构上不是很好,因为底座在扭曲时显示出相当多的弯曲。

盖子也是如此,不幸的是,它不能用一只手打开。一旦你打开它,你会发现侧面的边框相当细长,而顶部和底部的边框则偏厚。当然,磨砂显示屏下面有戴尔的标志。而在面板上方,有一个高清网络摄像头,有一个专用的隐私快门。一些设备将配备一个红外人脸识别传感器。

接下来是键盘。它有一个可选的背光,可以在不同的时间段保持照明。你可以在BIOS中对此进行调整。至于舒适度,它采用了点击式反馈,但键程有点短。归根结底,它在打字方面是舒适的。在它的右上角,你会发现电源按钮,在某些配置中它可以作为指纹识别器。

这里有一点甲板弯曲,在键盘和触摸板之间的空间里最为严重。说到这里,这台笔记本电脑有一个相当大的触摸板,它提供了准确的跟踪,快速的反应,以及一个带有点击反馈的机制,但同样–行程短。

最后但并非最不重要的是,让我们来看看底部面板。在那里,你会发现两个扬声器开孔,以及一个相当大的通风格栅,用于空气吸入。另一方面,排气口是在设备的后面。

端口

在左侧,有一个专有的充电插头,一个HDMI 1.4接口,一个USB Type-A 3.2(Gen. 1)端口,以及一个USB Type-C 3.2(Gen. 2)端口,可以输出DisplayPort信号并为设备充电。然后,在右边,你会发现一个安全插槽,一个LAN端口,然后是一个USB Type-A 3.2(Gen.1)端口,和一个USB Type-A 2.0端口。之后,你会得到一个音频插孔,一个MicroSD卡插槽,以及一个可选的SIM卡托盘。

拆卸、升级选项和维护

这台笔记本电脑的底板是由8个带帽的十字头螺钉固定的。在你解开它们之后,后面的两颗会把面板的背面抬起几毫米。这将使你能够轻松地开始撬动过程。

我们的设备配备的是较大的54Wh电池组。要把电池从机器中取出,从主板上拆下它的连接器。解开所有4个十字头螺钉,然后把它抬走。

在这里,你会看到两个SODIMM插槽。据戴尔称,它们总共支持32GB的DDR4内存,并以双通道模式工作。存储方面,只有一个M.2 PCIe x4插槽。

看一下散热,我们很惊讶地看到两根热管。除此以外,它是相当标准的,其散热器和风扇的尺寸一般。

显示质量

戴尔Latitude 14 3420采用全高清IPS屏幕,型号为Sharp XWXRY-LQ140M1(SHP1542)。它的对角线是14英寸(35.6厘米),分辨率 – 1920х1080。此外,屏幕比例为16:9,像素密度 – 157 ppi,其间距 – 0.16 x 0.16毫米。当从至少55厘米处观看时,该屏幕可被视为视网膜(从这个距离,普通人的眼睛无法看到单个像素)。

它具有舒适的可视角度。我们提供了45度的图像来评估质量。

此外,还有一个锁定焦点和曝光的视频。

测量的最大亮度在屏幕中间为273尼特(cd/m2),整个表面的平均亮度为255尼特(cd/m2),最大偏差为12%。在白色屏幕和最大亮度下的相关色温为6410K(平均)–比sRGB的6500K最佳色温略高。
在下面的插图中,你可以看到显示器在均匀性方面的表现。下图显示了操作亮度水平(约140尼特)的情况–在这种特殊情况下,亮度为53%(白色水平=143cd/m2,黑色水平=0.09cd/m2)。
dE2000的值不应该超过4.0,如果你打算使用笔记本电脑进行色彩敏感的工作,这个参数是你应该首先检查的参数之一(最大公差为2.0)。对比度是非常好的 – 1600:1。

为了确保我们在同一起跑线上,我们想给你介绍一下sRGB色域和Adobe RGB。首先,有一个CIE 1976统一色度图,它代表了人眼可见的颜色光谱,让你更好地感知色域的覆盖范围和颜色的准确性。

在黑色三角形内,你会看到标准色域(sRGB),它被数百万人在高清电视和网络上使用。至于Adobe RGB,这是用于专业相机、显示器等的打印。基本上,黑三角内的颜色被大家使用,这也是主流笔记本的色彩质量和色彩准确性的重要部分。

尽管如此,我们还是包括了其他色彩空间,如电影公司使用的著名的DCI-P3标准,以及数字UHD Rec.2020标准。然而,Rec.2020仍然是未来的事情,今天的显示器很难很好地覆盖它。我们还包括所谓的迈克尔-波因特色域,或波因特色域,它代表了每天自然发生在我们周围的颜色。

黄色虚线表示戴尔Latitude 14 3420的色域覆盖范围。

它的显示屏只覆盖了CIE1976中sRGB/ITU-R BT.709(网络/高清电视标准)的53%

我们的 “设计和游戏 “配置文件在140cd/m2的亮度和sRGB伽玛模式下提供最佳的色温(6500K)。

我们用24种常用的颜色测试了显示器的准确性,如浅色和深色的人类皮肤、蓝天、绿草、橙色等。你可以在工厂条件下查看结果,也可以在 “设计和游戏 “配置文件下查看。

下面你可以比较戴尔Latitude 14 3420在默认设置(左)和 “游戏和网页设计 “配置文件(右)下的得分。

下图显示了显示器对图像中真正的黑暗部分的再现能力,这在低环境光下看电影或玩游戏时是至关重要的。

图片的左边代表了原始设置下的显示器,而右边则是激活了 “游戏和网页设计 “配置文件。在横轴上,你会发现灰度,而在纵轴上–显示器的亮度。在下面的两张图中,你可以很容易地自己检查你的显示器如何处理最暗的细微差别,但请记住,这也取决于你当前显示器的设置、校准、视角和周围的光线条件。

响应时间(游戏能力)

我们用通常的 “黑到白 “和 “白到黑 “的方法测试像素的反应时间,从10%到90%,反之亦然。

我们记录了下降时间+上升时间=41毫秒–一个非常慢的面板。

之后,我们用通常的 “从灰到灰 “的方法测试像素的反应时间,从50%的白色到80%的白色,反之,在10%到90%的振幅之间。

健康影响–PWM/蓝光

PWM(屏幕闪动)

脉宽调制(PWM)是一种控制显示器亮度的简单方法。当你降低亮度时,背光的光强度并没有降低,而是由电子装置以人眼无法分辨的频率关闭和开启。在这些光脉冲中,光/无光的时间比例变化,而亮度保持不变,这对你的眼睛是有害的。你可以在我们关于PWM的专门文章中阅读更多相关内容。

戴尔Latitude 14 3420的背光灯只在67尼特以下使用PWM。而在这以下,它的工作频率很高,这使得显示器在这方面的长时间使用很舒适和安全。

蓝光排放

安装我们的Health-Guard配置文件,不仅可以消除PWM,还可以减少有害的蓝光排放,同时保持屏幕颜色的感观准确。如果你对蓝光不熟悉,TL;DR版本是–对你的眼睛、皮肤和整个身体产生负面影响的排放。你可以在我们关于蓝光的专门文章中找到更多相关信息。

购买我们的资料

由于我们的配置文件是为每个单独的显示器模型量身定做的,这篇文章和其各自的配置文件包是为戴尔Latitude 14 3420配置的14.0英寸夏普XWXRY-LQ140M1(SHP1542)(FHD,1920 × 1080)IPS。

*如果您在下载所购买的文件时遇到问题,请尝试使用不同的浏览器来打开您通过电子邮件收到的链接。如果下载目标是一个.php文件,而不是一个档案,请将文件扩展名改为.zip,或与我们联系,bg.laptopmedia@gmail.com。

点击这里阅读更多关于档案的信息。

除了获得高效和健康友好的配置文件,购买LaptopMedia的产品,您还可以支持我们实验室的发展,我们在实验室测试设备,以产生最客观的评论。

办公室工作

Office Work应该主要由那些花大部分时间看文本、表格或仅仅是浏览的用户使用。该配置文件旨在通过保持平坦的伽玛曲线(2.20)、本机色温和精确的色彩来提供更好的清晰度。

设计与游戏

本资料针对专业处理色彩的设计师,以及游戏和电影。设计与游戏》将显示面板发挥到了极致,使其在白点D65的网页和高清电视的sRGB IEC61966-2-1标准中尽可能准确。

卫生保健

Health-Guard消除了有害的脉宽调制(PWM),并减少了影响我们的眼睛和身体的负蓝光。 由于它是针对每个面板量身定制的,因此可以保持色彩在视觉上的准确性。 Health-Guard模拟纸张,因此大大减轻了眼睛的压力。

Get all 3 profiles with 33% discount

声音

戴尔Latitude 14 3420的扬声器产生的声音质量很好。低音、中音和高音都没有偏差。另一方面,最大音量不是很高。

驱动程序

这款笔记本的所有驱动程序和工具都可以在这里找到。 https://www.dell.com/support/home/en-us/product-support/product/latitude-14-3420-laptop/drivers

电池

现在,我们在打开WindowsBetter性能设置的情况下进行电池测试,屏幕亮度调整为120尼特,除了我们正在测试的笔记本外,所有其他程序都关闭。该设备的54Wh电池可提供11小时29分钟的网页浏览,或10小时25分钟的视频播放。

CPU选项

在这里,你有大量的选择,包括赛扬6305U、酷睿i3-1005G1、酷睿i3-1115G4、酷睿i3-1125G4、酷睿i5-1135G7、酷睿i5-1145G7和酷睿i7-1165G7。

GPU选项

除了集成解决方案外,这款笔记本电脑还可以找到GeForce MX450。它有2GB的GDDR5 VRAM。

游戏测试

cs-go-benchmarks

CS:GO高清1080p, 低(检查设置)高清1080p,中(检查设置)高清1080p,最大(检查设置)
平均FPS107 fps77 fps36帧

DOTA 2高清1080p,低(检查设置)高清1080p,正常(检查设置)高清1080p,高(检查设置)
平均FPS108 fps67 fps41帧

温度和舒适度

CPU最大负荷

在这个测试中,我们在CPU核心上使用100%,监测其频率和芯片温度。第一栏显示计算机对短负荷(2-10秒)的反应,第二栏模拟一个严肃的任务(15-30秒之间),第三栏是一个很好的指标,说明笔记本对长负荷的反应如何,如视频渲染。

平均核心频率(基本频率+X);CPU温度。

英特尔酷睿i5-1145G7 (15W TDP)0:02 – 0:10 秒0:15 – 0:30秒10:00 – 15:00 分钟
戴尔Latitude 14 34203.08 GHz @ 91°C @ 33W2.64 GHz @ 91°C @ 25W2.62 GHz @ 91°C @ 25W
戴尔Latitude 15 35202.85 GHz @ 92°C @ 28W2.51 GHz @ 92°C @ 23W2.56 GHz @ 92°C @ 24W
戴尔Latitude 13 53203.23 GHz @ 74°C @ 34W2.65 GHz @ 99°C @ 24W1.98 GHz @ 67°C @ 13W

奇怪的是,Latitude 14 3420的表现比其更大的15英寸兄弟更好。的确,CPU的温度有点高。但值得一提的是,我们使用了BIOS设置中的 “超性能 “配置文件。这使你能够最大限度地发挥处理器的作用。好吧,反正冷却解决方案可以提供这么多。

满负荷时的舒适度

在这种模式下,即使在低负载期间,风扇也会偶尔旋转起来。不过,当负载达到极致时,它可以清楚地听到,但绝不会太大声。另外,外部温度从未超过40℃。

评语

戴尔的Latitude 3000系列绝对不属于该品牌的高端产品。通过观察Latitude 14 3420的外观可以清楚地看到这一点。它完全由塑料制成,不幸的是–机身没有一个非常坚固的结构。

此外,你不可能用一只手打开盖子。一般来说,整个组件都在谈论制造商的意图。值得庆幸的是,这里的成本被削减在结构上,而不是功能上。有很多选择,包括红外面部识别传感器、指纹识别器和SIM卡托盘。

其他的好东西,如隐私快门会一直存在。说到这里,有两个SODIMM插槽用于内存扩展,以及一个M.2 PCIe x4插槽用于存储。外面的情况也很好。你得到了一个相当广泛的I/O,这无疑弥补了雷电4连接的不足。首先,USB Type-C 3.2(Gen. 2)端口提供了一个DisplayPort输出。然后,还有一个LAN端口,用于更稳定的互联网连接。而不是在最后的地方–你得到一个MicroSD读卡器。

戴尔Latitude 14 3420的IPS面板具有全高清分辨率,舒适的可视角度,以及非常高的对比度。值得庆幸的是,它只在67尼特以下使用PWM,而且闪烁的频率非常高。这使得笔记本电脑在长时间使用时很舒适。另一方面,它的色彩覆盖率有限,只有sRGB的53%。

在购买这款笔记本电脑之前,有一些东西值得检查一下。它是关于电池的,因为这台设备配备了41Wh或54Wh的包装。值得庆幸的是,我们的设备配备的是较大的那块,而且它也没有让人失望。我们有11个半小时的网络浏览,或10个半小时的视频播放。

说实话,如果要作为日常办公设备使用,这台笔记本电脑是值得的。的确,它有点无聊,而且制造质量也不是很好,但在我们看来,其功能超过了这些怪癖。

你可以在我们的规格系统中查看价格和配置。 https://laptopmedia.com/series/dell-latitude-14-3420/

Pros

  • 强大的可升级性
  • 稳定而安全的笔记本
  • 支持MicroSD卡、Wi-Fi 6,以及宽广的I/O
  • 伟大的电池寿命
  • 使用USB Type-C进行充电
  • 不使用积极的PWM进行亮度调节(夏普XWXRY-LQ140M1(SHP1542))。
  • 可选的红外面部识别、指纹识别器和LTE支持


Cons

  • 53%的sRGB覆盖率(夏普XWXRY-LQ140M1 (SHP1542))。
  • 价格有点贵
  • 不是最好的制造质量

BEST LAPTOPS FOR GAMES

Top 100 Best Laptops for Apex Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for GTA V Top 100 Best Laptops for Red Dead Redemption 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for ARK: Survival Evolved Top 100 Best Laptops for AC: Odyssey Top 100 Best Laptops for AC Valhalla [AnvilNext 2.0] Top 100 Best Laptops for Battlefield 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Borderlands 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Top 100 Best Laptops for CS:GO Top 100 Best Laptops for Cyberpunk 2077 Top 100 Best Laptops for Darksiders Genesis Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Top 100 Best Laptops for DOOM Eternal Top 100 Best Laptops for DOTA 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2021 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Far Cry New Dawn Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 19 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 20 Top 100 Best Laptops for FIFA 21 Top 100 Best Laptops for For Honor Top 100 Best Laptops for Fortnite Top 100 Best Laptops for Gears 5 Top 100 Best Laptops for Halo: Reach Top 100 Best Laptops for Hearthstone Top 100 Best Laptops for League of Legends Top 100 Best Laptops for Metro Exodus Top 100 Best Laptops for Minecraft Top 100 Best Laptops for Need For Speed Heat Top 100 Best Laptops for Overwatch Top 100 Best Laptops for PES 2020 Top 100 Best Laptops for PUBG Top 100 Best Laptops for Resident Evil 2 [RE Engine] Top 100 Best Laptops for Rise of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Rocket League Top 100 Best Laptops for Shadow of the Tomb Raider Top 100 Best Laptops for Team Fortress 2 Top 100 Best Laptops for The Witcher 3 Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Wildlands Top 100 Best Laptops for TC: Six Siege Top 100 Best Laptops for Total War: THREE KINGDOMS Top 100 Best Laptops for Warframe Top 100 Best Laptops for World of Tanks

Dell Latitude 14 3420 review – some configurations are really good

Once again, we have one of the most affordable business notebooks from Dell in for a review. Well, we shouldn’t use words like “affordable” so carelessly, because an adequate configuration of the device runs for nearly $1000.

Thankfully, you get quite the pool of processors to choose from. It spans from the Celeron 6305U, all the way up to the Core i7-1165G7. By the way, configurations equipped with the Celeron CPU are starting from around $500, but they are very limited in terms of performance.

In addition to that, you get a choice of three displays. The first is a 768p TN panel, which should be avoided at all costs. Then, there is a 1080p IPS one, which has a narrow color coverage but is the sweet spot for business computing. And the last one supposedly covers 100% of the sRGB gamut and should be suitable for color-sensitive work.

Before we go to the test results, let’s take the laptop out of the box, and see the inevitable cost-cutting measures on the outside.

You can check the prices and configurations in our Specs System: https://laptopmedia.com/series/dell-latitude-14-3420/

Contents

Specs Sheet

Dell Latitude 14 3420 review – some configurations are really good - Specs

  • Sharp XWXRY-LQ140M1 (SHP1542)
  • Color accuracy  3.3  3.4
  • HDD/SSD
  • up to 512GB SSD + up to 500GB HDD
  • RAM
  • up to 32GB
  • OS
  • Windows 10 Pro, Windows 11 Pro, Windows 10 Home
  • Battery
  • 54Wh, 4-cell, 41Wh, 3-cell
  • Body material
  • Plastic / Polycarbonate
  • Dimensions
  • 326 x 226 x 17.60 mm (12.83" x 8.90" x 0.69")
  • Weight
  • 1.52 kg (3.4 lbs)
  • Ports and connectivity
  • 1x USB Type-A
  • 2.0
  • 1x USB Type-A
  • 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps)
  • 1x USB Type-A
  • 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps), Sleep and Charge
  • 1x USB Type-C
  • 3.2 Gen 2 (10 Gbps), Power Delivery (PD), DisplayPort
  • HDMI
  • 1.4a
  • Card reader
  • microSD (SD/SDHC/SDXC)
  • Ethernet LAN
  • 10, 100, 1000 Mbit/s
  • Wi-Fi
  • 802.11ax
  • Bluetooth
  • 5.1
  • Audio jack
  • 3.5mm Combo Jack
  • Features
  • Fingerprint reader
  • Web camera
  • HD
  • Backlit keyboard
  • optional
  • Microphone
  • Digital Array Microphones
  • Speakers
  • 2x 2W, Stereo Speakers
  • Optical drive
  • Security Lock slot
  • Wedge Lock Slot

What’s in the box?

Inside the package, you will find the mandatory paperwork, and a 65W USB Type-C power adapter. Nothing more than the standard.

Design and construction

Obviously, this device is entirely made out of plastic. It weighs 1.52 kg and has a profile of 17.6mm, which makes it pretty compact. On the other hand, the plastic material is not very structurally sound, as the base shows quite a lot of flex when twisted.

The same can be said about the lid, which, unfortunately, can’t be opened with a single hand. Once you do pop it open, you will find that the side bezels are pretty slim, while the top and bottom ones are on the thick side. Naturally, there is the Dell logo below the matte display. And above the panel, there is an HD Web camera with a dedicated privacy shutter. Some units will feature an IR face recognition sensor.

Next comes the keyboard. It has an optional backlight, which can stay lit for different periods of time. You can adjust this in BIOS. As for the comfort, it sports clicky feedback, but the key travel was a bit short. Ultimately, it is comfortable for typing. In its top right corner, you will find the Power button, which doubles as a fingerprint reader in some configurations.

There is a bit of deck flex here with it being most severe in the space between the keyboard and the touchpad. Speaking of which, this laptop has a pretty large touchpad, which offers accurate tracking, fast response, and a mechanism with clicky feedback but again – short travel.

Last but not least, let’s take a look at the bottom panel. There, you will find two speaker cutouts, and a rather large ventilation grill meant for air intake. The exhaust, on the other hand, happens from the back of the device.

Ports

On the left side, there is a proprietary charging plug, an HDMI 1.4 connector, a USB Type-A 3.2 (Gen. 1) port, and a USB Type-C 3.2 (Gen. 2) port, which can output DisplayPort signal and charge the device. Then, on the right, you will find a security slot, a LAN port, followed by a USB Type-A 3.2 (Gen. 1) port, and a USB Type-A 2.0 port. After that, you get an audio jack, a MicroSD card slot, and an optional SIM card tray.

Disassembly, upgrade options and maintenance

This laptop’s bottom panel is held in place by 8 captive Phillips-head screws. After you undo them, the two on the back will lift the backside of the panel by a couple of millimeters. This will allow you to easily start the prying process.

Our unit was equipped with the larger 54Wh battery pack. To take the battery out of the machine, remove its connector from the motherboard. Undo all 4 Phillips-head screws, and lift it away.

Here, you will see two SODIMM slots. According to Dell, they support up to 32GB of DDR4 RAM in total and work in dual-channel mode. Storage-wise, there is only one M.2 PCIe x4 slot.

Looking at the cooling, we are surprised to see two heat pipes. Other than that, it is pretty standard, with its heat sink, and fan of average size.

Display quality

Dell Latitude 14 3420 features a Full HD IPS screen, model number Sharp XWXRY-LQ140M1 (SHP1542). Its diagonal is 14″ (35.6 cm), and the resolution – 1920 х 1080. Additionally, the screen ratio is 16:9, the pixel density – 157 ppi, their pitch – 0.16 x 0.16 mm. The screen can be considered Retina when viewed from at least 55 cm (from this distance, the average human eye can’t see the individual pixels).

It has comfortable viewing angles. We have provided images at 45 degrees to evaluate quality.

Also, a video with locked focus and exposure.

The maximum measured brightness is 273 nits (cd/m2) in the middle of the screen and 255 nits (cd/m2) average across the surface with a maximum deviation of 12%. The Correlated Color Temperature on a white screen and at maximum brightness is 6410K (average) – slightly warmer than the 6500K optimum for sRGB.
In the illustration below you can see how the display performs from a uniformity perspective. The illustration below shows how matters are for operational brightness levels (approximately 140 nits) – in this particular case at 53% Brightness (White level = 143 cd/m2, Black level = 0.09 cd/m2).
Values of dE2000 over 4.0 should not occur, and this parameter is one of the first you should check if you intend to use the laptop for color-sensitive work (a maximum tolerance of 2.0 ). The contrast ratio is very good – 1600:1.

To make sure we are on the same page, we would like to give you a little introduction to the sRGB color gamut and the Adobe RGB. To start, there’s the CIE 1976 Uniform Chromaticity Diagram that represents the visible specter of colors by the human eye, giving you a better perception of the color gamut coverage and the color accuracy.

Inside the black triangle, you will see the standard color gamut (sRGB) that is being used by millions of people on HDTV and on the web. As for the Adobe RGB, this is used in professional cameras, monitors, etc for printing. Basically, colors inside the black triangle are used by everyone and this is the essential part of the color quality and color accuracy of a mainstream notebook.

Still, we’ve included other color spaces like the famous DCI-P3 standard used by movie studios, as well as the digital UHD Rec.2020 standard. Rec.2020, however, is still a thing of the future and it’s difficult for today’s displays to cover that well. We’ve also included the so-called Michael Pointer gamut, or Pointer’s gamut, which represents the colors that naturally occur around us every day.

The yellow dotted line shows Dell Latitude 14 3420’s color gamut coverage.

Its display covers only 53% of the sRGB/ITU-R BT.709 (web/HDTV standard) in CIE1976.

Our “Design and Gaming” profile delivers optimal color temperature (6500K) at 140 cd/m2 luminance and sRGB gamma mode.

We tested the accuracy of the display with 24 commonly used colors like light and dark human skin, blue sky, green grass, orange, etc. You can check out the results at factory condition and also, with the “Design and Gaming” profile.

Below you can compare the scores of Dell Latitude 14 3420 with the default settings (left), and with the “Gaming and Web design” profile (right).

The next figure shows how well the display is able to reproduce really dark parts of an image, which is essential when watching movies or playing games in low ambient light.

The left side of the image represents the display with stock settings, while the right one is with the “Gaming and Web Design” profile activated. On the horizontal axis, you will find the grayscale, and on the vertical axis – the luminance of the display. On the two graphs below you can easily check for yourself how your display handles the darkest nuances but keep in mind that this also depends on the settings of your current display, the calibration, the viewing angle, and the surrounding light conditions.

Response time (Gaming capabilities)

We test the reaction time of the pixels with the usual “black-to-white” and “white-to-black” method from 10% to 90% and vice versa.

We recorded Fall Time + Rise Time = 41 ms – a very slow panel.

After that, we test the reaction time of the pixels with the usual “Gray-to-Gray” method from 50% White to 80% White and vice versa between 10% and 90% of the amplitude.

Health impact – PWM / Blue Light

PWM (Screen flickering)

Pulse-width modulation (PWM) is an easy way to control monitor brightness. When you lower the brightness, the light intensity of the backlight is not lowered, but instead turned off and on by the electronics with a frequency indistinguishable to the human eye. In these light impulses, the light/no-light time ratio varies, while brightness remains unchanged, which is harmful to your eyes. You can read more about that in our dedicated article on PWM.

Dell Latitude 14 3420’s backlight uses PWM only up to 67 nits. And below that, it works at a high frequency, which makes the display comfortable and safe for long periods of use in this aspect.

Blue light emissions

Installing our Health-Guard profile not only eliminates PWM but also reduces the harmful Blue Light emissions while keeping the colors of the screen perceptually accurate. If you’re not familiar with the Blue light, the TL;DR version is – emissions that negatively affect your eyes, skin, and your whole body. You can find more information about that in our dedicated article on Blue Light.

Buy our profiles

Since our profiles are tailored for each individual display model, this article and its respective profile package are meant for Dell Latitude 14 3420 configurations with 14.0″ Sharp XWXRY-LQ140M1 (SHP1542) (FHD, 1920 × 1080) IPS.

*Should you have problems with downloading the purchased file, try using a different browser to open the link you’ll receive via e-mail. If the download target is a .php file instead of an archive, change the file extension to .zip or contact us at bg.laptopmedia@gmail.com.

Read more about the profiles HERE.

In addition to receiving efficient and health-friendly profiles, by buying LaptopMedia's products you also support the development of our labs, where we test devices in order to produce the most objective reviews possible.

Office Work

Office Work should be used mostly by users who spend most of the time looking at pieces of text, tables or just surfing. This profile aims to deliver better distinctness and clarity by keeping a flat gamma curve (2.20), native color temperature and perceptually accurate colors.

Design and Gaming

This profile is aimed at designers who work with colors professionally, and for games and movies as well. Design and Gaming takes display panels to their limits, making them as accurate as possible in the sRGB IEC61966-2-1 standard for Web and HDTV, at white point D65.

Health-Guard

Health-Guard eliminates the harmful Pulse-Width Modulation (PWM) and reduces the negative Blue Light which affects our eyes and body. Since it’s custom tailored for every panel, it manages to keep the colors perceptually accurate. Health-Guard simulates paper so the pressure on the eyes is greatly reduced.

Get all 3 profiles with 33% discount

Sound

Dell Latitude 14 3420’s speakers produce a sound of good quality. The low, mid, and high tones are clear of deviations. On the other hand, the maximum volume is not very high.

Drivers

All drivers and utilities for this notebook can be found here: https://www.dell.com/support/home/en-us/product-support/product/latitude-14-3420-laptop/drivers

Battery

Now, we conduct the battery tests with Windows Better performance setting turned on, screen brightness adjusted to 120 nits, and all other programs turned off except for the one we are testing the notebook with. This device’s 54Wh battery delivers 11 hours and 29 minutes of Web browsing, or 10 hours and 25 minutes of video playback.

CPU options

Here, you get a ton of options spanning from the Celeron 6305U, Core i3-1005G1, Core i3-1115G4, Core i3-1125G4, Core i5-1135G7, Core i5-1145G7, and Core i7-1165G7.

GPU options

In addition to the integrated solutions, this laptop can be found with the GeForce MX450. It has 2GB of GDDR5 VRAM.

Gaming tests

cs-go-benchmarks

CS:GOHD 1080p, Low (Check settings)HD 1080p, Medium (Check settings)HD 1080p, MAX (Check settings)
Average FPS107 fps77 fps36 fps

DOTA 2HD 1080p, Low (Check settings)HD 1080p, Normal (Check settings)HD 1080p, High (Check settings)
Average FPS108 fps67 fps41 fps

Temperatures and comfort

Max CPU load

In this test we use 100% on the CPU cores, monitoring their frequencies and chip temperature. The first column shows a computer’s reaction to a short load (2-10 seconds), the second column simulates a serious task (between 15 and 30 seconds), and the third column is a good indicator of how good the laptop is for long loads such as video rendering.

Average core frequency (base frequency + X); CPU temp.

Intel Core i5-1145G7 (15W TDP)0:02 – 0:10 sec0:15 – 0:30 sec10:00 – 15:00 min
Dell Latitude 14 34203.08 GHz @ 91°C @ 33W2.64 GHz @ 91°C @ 25W2.62 GHz @ 91°C @ 25W
Dell Latitude 15 35202.85 GHz @ 92°C @ 28W2.51 GHz @ 92°C @ 23W2.56 GHz @ 92°C @ 24W
Dell Latitude 13 53203.23 GHz @ 74°C @ 34W2.65 GHz @ 99°C @ 24W1.98 GHz @ 67°C @ 13W

Weirdly, the Latitude 14 3420 performs better than its larger 15-inch brother. Indeed, the temperature of the CPU is a bit high. But it’s worth mentioning that we used the “Ultra Performance” profile from the BIOS settings. This allows you to get the maximum out of the processor. Well, as much as the cooling solution can provide anyways.

Comfort during full load

In this mode, the fan will occasionally spin up, even during low load. When the load is extreme, though, it is clearly audible, but never too loud. Also, the external temperature never exceeds 40°C.

Verdict

Dell’s Latitude 3000 series is definitely not among the premium offerings from the marque. This is clearly visible by observing the outside of the Latitude 14 3420. It is entirely made out of plastic, and unfortunately – the body doesn’t have a very rigid structure.

Additionally, you won’t be able to open the lid with a single hand. Generally, the entire assembly is speaking about the intents of the manufacturer. Thankfully, the costs here were cut in the construction, and not in features. There are a lot of options, including an IR face recognition sensor, fingerprint reader, and SIM card tray.

Other goodies like the privacy shutter will be present at all times. Speaking of which, there are two SODIMM slots for memory expansion, as well as a single M.2 PCIe x4 slot for storage. And the situation on the outside is great as well. You get a pretty extensive I/O which definitely makes up for the lack of Thunderbolt 4 connectivity. First of all, the USB Type-C 3.2 (Gen. 2) port offers a DisplayPort output. Then, there is the LAN port for a more stable Internet connection. And not in the last place – you get a MicroSD card reader.

Dell Latitude 14 3420’s IPS panel has a Full HD resolution, comfortable viewing angles, and a very high contrast ratio. Thankfully, it uses PWM only below 67 nits, and the flickerings have a very high frequency. This makes the laptop comfortable for long periods of use. On the other hand, it has a limited color coverage of only 53% of sRGB.

There is something worth checking out before buying this laptop. It is regarding the battery, as this unit comes with either a 41Wh or a 54Wh package. Thankfully, our device was equipped with the larger one, and it doesn’t disappoint. We got 11 hours and a half of Web browsing, or 10 hours and a half of video playback.

To be honest, the laptop is worth its money if it’s going to be used as an everyday office device. Indeed, it is a bit boring, and the build quality is not great, but the features outweigh the quirks in our opinion.

You can check the prices and configurations in our Specs System: https://laptopmedia.com/series/dell-latitude-14-3420/

Pros

  • Great upgradeability
  • Stable and secure notebook
  • MicroSD card, Wi-Fi 6 support, and wide I/O
  • Great battery life
  • Charges with USB Type-C
  • Doesn’t use aggressive PWM for brightness adjustment (Sharp XWXRY-LQ140M1 (SHP1542))
  • Optional IR face recognition, fingerprint reader, and LTE support


Cons

  • 53% sRGB coverage (Sharp XWXRY-LQ140M1 (SHP1542))
  • A bit pricey
  • Not the best build quality